St Michael's CE Primary

Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the period of education from birth to five years.

During the Reception class the children work towards the early learning goals. Most children are expected to achieve the early learning goals by the end of the Foundation Stage.


There is a strong emphasis on children learning through play, both child initiated and planned play. The curriculum is delivered through a combination of whole class activities, adult led focussed activities and child initiated activities. In our Reception Class, we teach children through ‘topics’ and these are based on the children’s interests.


Focus activities: The focus activities involve the class teacher working with a small group of children. During the year, children will be working in small groups focusing on reading, writing and mathematics.


Within the EYFS curriculum there are 7 areas of learning.


The three prime areas are:  


Personal, Social and Emotional Development:

This area of learning is about emotional well-being, developing a sense of themselves and of others and knowing who they are and what they can do. It is about developing respect for others, social competence and a positive disposition to learn.


Communication and Language:

In this area of learning, children will develop the confidence for communication and speaking and listening in different situations and for different purposes. They will be able to answer ‘how’ and ‘why’ questions about their experiences and in response to stories and events. Children will be able to express themselves effectively, showing awareness of listeners needs.


Physical Development:

Physical development in the foundation stage is about improving skills of co-ordination, control and manipulation and movement. This area helps children gain confidence in what they do and enables them to feel the positive benefits of being healthy and active. Effective physical development helps children develop a positive sense of well- being.


The specific areas are:



In this area of learning, children will be read a wide range of stories and begin reading simple texts understanding the way stories are structured. They will also be writing for a variety of purposes, attempting to write sentences using clearly identifiable letters to communicate meaning.



Mathematics depends on becoming confident and competent in learning and using a broad range of key skills. This area of learning includes, counting, solving practical problems, using mathematical vocabulary, seeking patterns, shapes, recognising and working with number, space and measure.


Understanding of the World:

Children are supported in developing the crucial knowledge, skills and understanding that help them to make sense of the world. Opportunities will be given for children to explore creatures, people, plants and objects in their natural environments and in real-life situations. Children will have the opportunity to use a variety of technology for particular purposes.


Expressive Arts and Design:

Creativity is fundamental to successful learning. Children will have opportunities to explore materials, tools and techniques, experimenting with colour, design, texture, form and function. Children will be able to represent their own ideas, thoughts and feelings through design and technology, art, music, role-play and stories.